The Lost Children: An absolutely heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical novel

Amazon.co.uk Price: $7.99 (as of 01/12/2020 05:09 PST- Details)

As they walked towards the railway station, their mother took an envelope from her handbag. ‘I want you to keep this somewhere safe.’ ‘What’s in the letter?’‘Listen carefully. You’re never to open it unless you or your sister are in real trouble. Promise me.’England, 1943: Home is no longer safe for eight-year-old twins Molly and Jacob. Night after night wailing bombs and screeching planes skim the rooftops overhead. They cradle each other, shivering in terror, not knowing if they will live to see dawn. Their mother, Martha, has no choice but to evacuate them to the safety of the countryside.At the train station, Martha bites back tears as she says goodbye to her precious children. Knowing she might never see them again, she gives Jacob a letter, pressing the envelope into his hands and telling him to only read it if they are in danger.In the country, Molly and Jacob must adjust to life with strangers. Every night they dream of returning home to the arms of their beloved mother. But then the unimaginable happens. Martha is killed in an explosion, leaving the twins all alone in the world.The war has robbed Molly and Jacob of everything – all they have left is one another. Motherless and destitute, they face the grim reality of life in an orphanage. The time has finally come for Jacob to open the letter. What secret does it hold, and could it change the course of their tragic fate? Because if they are together, they can survive anything – but what if they are torn apart?From the bestselling author of The Orphan Sisters comes an utterly heartbreaking and unforgettable tale of two children who must lean on each other in a time of tragedy and learn the shocking truth of their past. Fans of Wives of War, Lisa Wingate and Diney Costeloe will be swept away by this sublime World War Two novel.Readers absolutely love Shirley Dickson:‘I was gripped from the very first page… It was heartbreaking… I smiled through these happy times with them but also shed tears… I could not put it down… Will undoubtedly pull at your heartstrings. Just make sure you have a box of tissues ready!’ Stardust Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐‘Absolutely fabulous… Had me hooked from the very first page… Took me on a rollercoaster of emotions and had me in tears.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐‘I absolutely loved it!… An emotional, heart-wrenching story of love and loss amidst the horror of war… Will tug at your heartstrings… Will have you reaching for the tissues… Wonderful.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐‘A beautiful story! Had me in tears from the very beginning. I couldn’t put this one down.’ A Book With Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐‘Outstanding… I absolutely loved this superb page-turner.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐‘Make sure you have tissues handy… The story is heartbreaking… Worthy of 5* and more.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐‘Promises to keep you turning the pages as your heart attempts not to break. A book you will lose yourself in!’ All the Good Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐‘A gorgeous character-driven, coming-of-age story about family bonds, love, and hardships of war. Exceptionally beautiful!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐‘A beautifully written coming-of-age story… I didn’t want to put down… Tugs at your heartstrings.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Description

As they walked towards the railway station, their mother took an envelope from her handbag. ‘I want you to keep this somewhere safe.’ ‘What’s in the letter?’‘Listen carefully. You’re never to open it unless you or your sister are in real trouble. Promise me.’England, 1943: Home is no longer safe for eight-year-old twins Molly and Jacob. Night after night wailing bombs and screeching planes skim the rooftops overhead. They cradle each other, shivering in terror, not knowing if they will live to see dawn. Their mother, Martha, has no choice but to evacuate them to the safety of the countryside.At the train station, Martha bites back tears as she says goodbye to her precious children. Knowing she might never see them again, she gives Jacob a letter, pressing the envelope into his hands and telling him to only read it if they are in danger.In the country, Molly and Jacob must adjust to life with strangers. Every night they dream of returning home to the arms of their beloved mother. But then the unimaginable happens. Martha is killed in an explosion, leaving the twins all alone in the world.The war has robbed Molly and Jacob of everything – all they have left is one another. Motherless and destitute, they face the grim reality of life in an orphanage. The time has finally come for Jacob to open the letter. What secret does it hold, and could it change the course of their tragic fate? Because if they are together, they can survive anything – but what if they are torn apart?From the bestselling author of The Orphan Sisters comes an utterly heartbreaking and unforgettable tale of two children who must lean on each other in a time of tragedy and learn the shocking truth of their past. Fans of Wives of War, Lisa Wingate and Diney Costeloe will be swept away by this sublime World War Two novel.Readers absolutely love Shirley Dickson:‘I was gripped from the very first page… It was heartbreaking… I smiled through these happy times with them but also shed tears… I could not put it down… Will undoubtedly pull at your heartstrings. Just make sure you have a box of tissues ready!’ Stardust Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐‘Absolutely fabulous… Had me hooked from the very first page… Took me on a rollercoaster of emotions and had me in tears.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐‘I absolutely loved it!… An emotional, heart-wrenching story of love and loss amidst the horror of war… Will tug at your heartstrings… Will have you reaching for the tissues… Wonderful.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐‘A beautiful story! Had me in tears from the very beginning. I couldn’t put this one down.’ A Book With Review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐‘Outstanding… I absolutely loved this superb page-turner.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐‘Make sure you have tissues handy… The story is heartbreaking… Worthy of 5* and more.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐‘Promises to keep you turning the pages as your heart attempts not to break. A book you will lose yourself in!’ All the Good Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐‘A gorgeous character-driven, coming-of-age story about family bonds, love, and hardships of war. Exceptionally beautiful!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐‘A beautifully written coming-of-age story… I didn’t want to put down… Tugs at your heartstrings.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Additional information

Author

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Lost Children: An absolutely heartbreaking and gripping World War 2 historical novel”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *